Skip to content

Connecticut Congressional Delegation to Introduce Resolutions Honoring UConn's National Championship

[HARTFORD, CT] – U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal and Chris Murphy joined U.S. Representatives Joe Courtney, Rosa DeLauro, John B. Larson, Jim Himes, and Jahana Hayes in announcing resolutions congratulating the University of Connecticut men’s basketball team for winning the 2023 NCAA Division I Championship. The resolutions commend the Huskies’ dominant performance and defeat of every opponent by at least 13 points on their way to their fifth national title since 1999 – a feat no other college team has surpassed. They also recognize Adama Sanogo for being named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament and honor UConn fans, students, and faculty for the incredible achievement.   

“Once again, the Huskies have inspired our state,” the delegation said in a statement. “Five national championships don’t happen by accident – they are the result of the coaches’ and players’ hard work and the unwavering support from everyone in the UConn community. The ‘College Basketball Capital of the World’ in Storrs has been reaffirmed. We’re so proud of this team and program.” 

Resolutions will be introduced in both the Senate and House of Representatives. Text of the Senate resolution can be found here. Text of the House resolution can be found here