Skip to content

Connecticut, Indiana Senators Make Friendly Wager On Women’s NCAA Championship Game

(Washington, D.C.) – Connecticut Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.) and Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) today made a friendly wager with Indiana Senators Dan Coats (R-Ind.) and Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.) on tonight’s NCAA Women’s Championship Game between the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and UConn Huskies. The two teams also faced off in last year’s national championship game, which UConn won, 79-58.

Senators Blumenthal and Murphy wagered an array of sweets from Munson’s Chocolates from Bolton, CT, on the Huskies, who are seeking their third consecutive national championship and tenth title in program history.

Senators Coats and Donnelly have staked a basket of goods from South Bend Chocolate Co. on the Fighting Irish, who are appearing in their fifth straight Final Four.

“The UConn women are once again rolling with unstoppable momentum, said Blumenthal. “The Huskies have never lost a championship game, and with a win tonight, Coach Auriemma can tie the great Coach John Wooden’s record of 10 national championships. I’ll be rooting for Coach Auriemma, Breanna Stewart, Morgan Tuck, and a Huskies roster stacked with talent tonight, and I look forward to enjoying treats from Indiana after UConn wins. The Huskies are heroes – winners on and off the court.”

It doesn’t really seem fair to keep fleecing the Indiana delegation like this, but I will run out of Easter candy in a few weeks, so this new supply of chocolate will be very welcome,” said Murphy. “Notre Dame is a good team, but UConn has looked fantastic all tournament, so I’m looking forward to a big win tonight.”

These two teams are the gold standard in women’s college basketball,” said Coats. “I look forward to tonight’s game, and I am confident that the Irish will prevail.

“This Irish team has found a way to win all year,” said Donnelly, a Notre Dame alum. “Coach McGraw has them ready to beat the Huskies tonight. I look forward to Notre Dame bringing home the national championship trophy to South Bend. Go Irish!”