Connecticut Congressional Delegation Announces Appointments to Service Academies

[WASHINGTON, DC] – U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and Chris Murphy (D-CT), and U.S. Representatives John Larson (D-1), Joe Courtney (D-2), Rosa DeLauro (D-3), Jim Himes (D-4), and Elizabeth Esty (D-5) today released the names of the Connecticut men and women who have accepted offers of appointment to one of the four United States service academies.


“These impressive students are stepping forward to serve our country, fight for our freedom, and protect our democracy,” said the Members. “Nominating these young leaders to attend one of our nation’s service academies is a great privilege, and we are proud to support Connecticut’s best and brightest students as they embark on this path. These are smart, tough, dedicated men and women who are volunteering to risk and commit all. We are grateful to them and their families for their service.”


Each year, Members of Congress are able to nominate candidates for appointment to four of the nation’s U.S. service academies: The U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York; the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland; the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado; and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, New York. Graduates are commissioned as officers in the active or reserve components of the military or Merchant Marine and serve for a minimum of five years.


The nominees were chosen by each Member’s Selection Committees, a nonpartisan board made up of service academy graduates and retired military personnel. Those nominees who have accepted appointment are listed below.


U.S. Military Academy at West Point


Robert Bertil Anderson: Riverside

Grace Elizabeth Blackwell: Redding

Madeline Margaret Burns: Ridgefield

Meaghan Michelle Carroll: Cheshire

Paul Edward Corapi:New Canaan

Sean Dillon Coyle: Ansonia

Deanna Rachele Edgar: Norwich

Matthew David Evans:  Enfield

Leah Elizabeth Foodman: Redding

Donna Gloria Funaro: Fairfield

Byran Matthew Gerstenfeld: Fairfield

Claudia Louise Hess: West Hartford

Liam Reilly Kane: New Britain

Justin Aminul Karim: South Windsor

Johnathan Louis Keating: Ridgefield

Shea Thomas Allen: Brookfield

Seth Benjamin Losure: Watertown

Elizabeth Marie Martin: Weaatogue

Louis Alfredo Palombo: Mansfield

Emma Jack Powless: Darien

Aaron Nicholas Romero: East Hampton

Brian Timothy Savidge: South Windsor

Andrew Buckley Scott: New Canaan

Valerie Marguerite Shaw: Greenwich

Samantha Marie Stewart: New Canaan

Jacob Eric Troelstra: Westport

William Quinton Jair Walter: Windsor

Rebecca Ann Weigel: Lisbon

John Hamilton Wilson: New Milford

Kyle Joseph Summa: Plantsvillle

John Gallop Ziomek: Ellington


U.S. Naval Academy


Bradley Alexander: Ridgefield

Timothy Brough: Wethersfield

Benjamin Birney: Wallingford

Steven Caldwell: Cheshire

Benjamin Clemens: Woodbridge

Daniel Dolan: Redding

Seamus Bourne Dwyer: Glastonbury

Theodore David Freidenrich: Ridgefield

Catlen Elizabeth Goss: Clinton

Michael Joseph Henesey: New Canaan

Christian Eiger Hoffman: Sandy Hook

Benjamin Hardee Nicholas: Cornwall

Jared Robert Taintor: Storrs

Peter Van Duyne: Riverside

Yuwi Yamashita: Windsor


U.S. Air Force Academy


Austin Aitro: Hamden

George Henry Crist: Greenwich

Joseph James Duva: West Hartford

Taylor Marie Howe: Torrington

David Kaminski: Bristol

Francesca Ivana-Rosa Kleine: Hamden

John Alexander Jr. Kostal: Avon

Alec Cole Opsal: New Fairfield

Mark Wojcik: Salem


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy


Meika Grace Gathy: Waterford

Zachary John Hess: Vernon

Colby Christopher McLiverty: Derby

William Quigley: Trumbull

John Maudsley: Wilton