Skip to content

Blumenthal Applauds Senate Confirmation of CT Native Jessica Rosenworcel to Chair FCC

Affordable broadband, net neutrality, & privacy champion will protect & benefit consumers

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Today, U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) applauded the United States Senate’s confirmation of Jessica Rosenworcel to chair the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). Rosenworcel, who will now become the first woman in the FCC’s nearly ninety-year history to serve as permanent chair, was confirmed in a bipartisan 68-31 vote.

“Jessica Rosenworcel will be a dynamic, determined enforcer and advocate for all consumers and underserved Americans,” said Blumenthal. “As a vigorous consumer champion with deep roots in Connecticut, her confirmation is a historic step forward for both the FCC and our state. I’ve seen firsthand Chair Rosenworcel’s commitment to ending the scourge of robocalls and closing the digital divide that plagues far too many disadvantaged communities. As funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Deal goes to accessible high-speed internet, the FCC will now have an affordable broadband, net neutrality, and privacy champion leading implementation. I’ve been proud to advocate for her nomination as a member of the Senate Commerce Committee, and I look forward to welcoming Chair Rosenworcel back to Connecticut as she continues her impressive work at the FCC.”

Last month, Blumenthal introduced Rosenworcel before her nomination hearing in the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. Video of Blumenthal’s remarks can be found here.

Jessica Rosenworcel has served as an FCC Commissioner since 2012, and was named Acting Chair in January of this year. Prior to her time as a Commissioner, Rosenworcel served as Senior Communications Counsel for the United States Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, and as a Senior Legal Adviser to the FCC. Rosenworcel is a native of West Hartford, Connecticut and a graduate of Wesleyan University and New York University School of Law.