Skip to content

Blumenthal & Murphy Introduce Resolution Recognizing June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month

[HARTFORD, CT] – U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and Chris Murphy (D-CT) joined U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) in introducing a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month. The senators’ resolution highlights the contributions LGBTQ+ Americans have made to our country, notes several major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ+ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality.

“During Pride Month, we recognize and celebrate the LGBTQ+ community for their tremendous contributions throughout history. All Americans deserve protection and acceptance regardless of who they are or who they love,” 

“Over the last few years, Republican lawmakers across the country have launched a relentless campaign to marginalize, demonize, and roll back rights for the LGBTQ community,” said Senator Murphy. “As we come together to celebrate our LGBTQ friends and neighbors, this month is a reminder that the work to make our communities a safe and welcoming place for everyone is a constant, active effort. I’m proud to stand with the LGBTQ community today and every day, and I will keep fighting in Congress to make our country a more inclusive and equal place.”

The resolution was also co-sponsored by Senators Tina Smith (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Ed Markey (D-MA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Angus King (I-ME), Tom Carper (D-DE), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Bob Casey (D-PA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), John Fetterman (D-PA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Joe Manchin (I-WV), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Peter Welch (D-VT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Jack Reed (D-RI), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Mark Warner (D-VA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Ben Cardin (D-MD), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Patty Murray (D-WA), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Gary Peters (D-MI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jon Tester (D-MT), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), and Chuck Schumer (D-NY).

This year’s resolution is endorsed by the Human Rights Campaign.

The Equality Act, cosponsored by Senators Blumenthal and Murphy, would amend federal anti-discrimination laws to explicitly ban discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity in a host of areas, such as employment, housing, public accommodations, jury service, access to credit, federal funding, and more. It would also add protections against sex discrimination in parts of anti-discrimination laws where these protections had not been included previously, such as public accommodations and federal funding.

The full text of the resolution is available here.