
 1 

Q&A: UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE 

How much can I get from Unemployment Insurance?  

Under the latest relief bill, the federal government will provide an additional $300 per 
week for all workers receiving state and federal unemployment benefits by extending the 
Pandemic Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation program (FPUC) created 
under the CARES Act. This $300 federal supplement will last from December 26 
through March 14, 2021. Under the CARES Act, the federal government provided an 
additional $600 per week for workers receiving state benefits through FPUC which 
expired on July 31, 2020. According to the State of Connecticut, claimants can 
expect these FPUC benefits by mid-January. 

What if I’m not eligible for traditional Unemployment Insurance?  

The CARES Act expanded unemployment insurance benefits to a wide range of 
Americans not covered by traditional UI. Under the Pandemic Unemployment 
Assistance (PUA) Program created by the CARES Act, states are permitted to offer 
unemployment benefits to individuals who are self-employed, seeking part-time 
employment, or who otherwise would not qualify for regular unemployment 
compensation. To qualify for PUA benefits, you must not be eligible for regular 
unemployment benefits and be unemployed, partially unemployed, or unable or 
unavailable to work because of certain health or economic consequences of the COVID-
19 pandemic. PUA was set to expire on December 31, 2020 and the latest relief bill 
extends the program to March 14, 2021. 
  
The CARES Act also created the Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation 
(PEUC) program, which provides 13 additional weeks of unemployment benefits to 
individuals who exhaust their regular state benefits. The PEUC program was also set to 
expire on December 31, 2020 and the latest relief bill extends the program to March 14, 
2021. 
  
The most recent relief bill also included a new unemployment program for mixed earner 
employees eligible for regular state benefits through their W2, but that make a major 
portion of their total income through self-employment based on their 1099. The Mixed 
Earner Unemployment Compensation (MEUC) program will provide those with both 
traditional and freelance income an additional $100 per week benefit if the worker 
received W2 wages and at least $5,000 in self-employment income during the latest 
taxable year. This program was optional for states, but Connecticut has officially opted 
in.     
  
After the CARES Act passed, the Connecticut Department of Labor sent out guidance on 
their new unemployment claims system for independent contractors and self-employed 
seeking unemployment benefits. Please continue to check the Connecticut Department 
of Labor’s page for updates on implementing the latest federal unemployment relief 
programs here.  
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Is there a waiting period?  

Under the CARES Act, the federal government offered to cover the costs of first-week UI 
benefits for any state that does not require a waiting period. Connecticut has waived the 
usual waiting period for unemployment claims for claims related to COVID-19. 

How do I file for unemployment insurance?  

To receive unemployment insurance benefits, you need to file a claim with the 
unemployment insurance program in the state where you worked. Connecticut residents 
can file for unemployment benefits online at the following 
link: https://portal.ct.gov/DOLUI. Questions can be answered at by the Connecticut 
Department of Labor’s Consumer Contact Center Monday – Friday from 8:00am - 
5:00pm and Saturday from 8:00am - 3:00pm at the following numbers: 
  
203-941-6868 
860-967-0493 
800-956-3294 
TTY - 711 or 800-842-9710 


